Home > Emotional, Music, Random Thoughts > Signing Off: Ich Bin Für Immer Verändert

Signing Off: Ich Bin Für Immer Verändert

Translation: I am forever changed.

Over the past couple of days I’ve been reading over my blog posts and reflecting on the state of mind I remember having as I wrote each of them.

As I read the earliest posts on this blog — the ones that anticipate my departure with Zamir to Berlin — it seems as if someone else wrote them. The person who wrote those posts, just seven days ago, could never have anticipated the enormous impact this past week has had on me. I feel like I’ve had some kind of intellectual growth spurt, that my head is spinning full of new ideas and new emotions. I’ve met so many new people, and I’ve learned new things about old friends; I’ve seen new sights, I’ve heard new sounds. I have stood among 250 singers and filled a synagogue sanctuary with Godly music. I have stood among seven singers and haunted a cemetery chapel, and I have felt the presence of ruach ha-kodesh.

I enjoyed dinner out last night with a group of close friends, but I’m sure they didn’t understand that I was a different person sitting with them. I felt changed even from the person I was just two weeks ago. I’m bursting at the seams to tell friends and colleagues about the experience Zamir had in Berlin, but I know that once I open my mouth to start speaking it’s as if I will never be able to stop. Too much to say; too much to filter; too much still to process.

This blog has been a therapeutic and cathartic medium in which I can express my thoughts and feelings as the week has gone by. It has allowed me to reflect positively on the world around me as it has penetrated my mind, my heart, and my soul. Thank you all for taking this journey with me. It is not one I will soon forget.

Altos!

  1. December 21, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    Thank you for taking us on this journey with you! It’s amazing that you had this opportunity, and I’m glad it had its potential impact on you. I predict that the trip will affect you in ways you won’t realize for years to come. Michelangelo said something about how sculpting releases the form that is inside the marble, and it seems that this trip was a major chiseling away to reveal the form that is you. May your next amazing adventure come soon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

